Secretaria Permanente del Tratado General de Integración Económica Centroamericana (SIECA)

Secrétariat permanent du Traité général d'intégration économique de l'Amérique centrale
Permanent Secretariat of the General Treaty on Central American Economic Integration

Search Open Yearbook

This information is part of the Open Yearbook, a free service of UIA's subscription-based Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO). It includes profiles of non-profit organizations working worldwide in all fields of activity. The information contained in the profiles and search functionality of this free service are limited.

The full-featured Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO) includes over 72,500 organization profiles, additional information in the profiles, sophisticated search functionality and data export. For more information about YBIO, please click here or contact us.

The UIA is a leading provider of information about international non-profit organizations. The aim of the Open Yearbook is to promote the activities of international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs).

Contact Details

Available with paid subscription only.


13 Dec 1960, Managua (Nicaragua), on signature of General Treaty on Central American Economic Integration, 1960 by representatives of the Governments of El Salvador, Guatemala (Guatemala), Honduras and Nicaragua. Treaty came into force, June 1961 and by Sep 1963 was ratified by all the 5 countries. SIECA commenced activities on 12 Oct 1961. A Central American Economic Integration Program had been formally established, 27 Aug 1952, when Ministers of the 5 states together formed Central American Economic Cooperation Committee (CCE) whose first meeting was on that occasion. The General Treaty is the basic instrument of the Program, envisaging the creation of Central American Common Market (CACM). The Treaty incorporates Agreement on the System of Central American Integrated Industries, signed 10 June 1958, and also takes into account and keeps in force previous agreements: Multilateral Treaty on Free Trade and Central American Economic Integration; Central American Agreement on the Equalization of Import Charges, with accompanying Protocol on Central American Preferential Tariff, adopted 1 Sep 1959. Costa Rica adhered to the Central American convention on equalization of tariff rates, 23 July 1962. A number of protocols to the General Treaty have been signed by member countries and ratified by some or all of them, including Protocol to the General Treaty of Central American Economic Integration - Central American Uniform Customs Code which contains the Standard Central American Tariff Code (CAUCA). Restructuring of CACM was initiated in 1973. From Dec 1974, SIECA contributed to drawing up a Treaty establishing Central American Economic and Social Community (CESCA) to replace CACM; and a Draft Treaty was presented to Presidents of member countries, 23 Mar 1976. In Dec 1984, Convention on Central American Tariff and Customs Regulations was signed by plenipotentiaries of the Governments of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala and Nicaragua and came into force in these countries on 17 Sep 1985, at first meeting of Central American Tariff and Customs Council. This adopted the Brussels (Belgium) Tariff Nomenclature (BTN) of the Customs Cooperation Council and remains open for accession to its provisions by any Central American state that is not an original signatory. Central American Integration System (SICA), set up 13 Dec 1991, is the juridical and institutional framework to ensure the attainment of purposes of the Central American Integration Treaties and the follow up of regional policies and decisions adopted by summit meetings of Central American Presidents. The General Treaty of 1960 was modified in 1993 by Protocol to the General Treaty of Central American Economic Integration, 1993 (Guatemala Protocol). Previous cooperation among Central American states commenced with the setting up of Central American Federation, 1823.


Promote economic integration of Central America in order to obtain an equitable and sustainable economic and social development in terms of welfare of the Central American economies; coordinate economic policies of contracting states.

Available with paid subscription only.


SIECA continues in efforts to develop the Central American Common Market originally planned by ECLAC. In accordance with the current strategy for the economic integration of Central America, activities are focused on perfecting the Central American Common Market and inserting the region into the world economy. Within this framework, SIECA: supervises correct application of the legal instruments of economic integration; executes decisions of the bodies conducting economic integration; undertakes studies and other work requested by these bodies; acts as a link with these bodies and the institutions and secretariats of the integration system; exercises initiative in issues related to integration. General Directions (3): Central American Common Market; Foreign Commercial Policy; Studies of Integration and Cooperation. Was instrumental in setting up: Association of Maritime, Road and Air Transport Users in the Central American Isthmus (USUARIOS); Central American Commission for Migration (OCAM); Central American Shipowners Association (ACAMAR). Proposes setting up: Central American Commission on Export Development.


Available with paid subscription only.



Relations with Inter-Governmental Organizations

Relations with 33 inter-governmental organizations.
More detailed data available with paid subscription.

Relations with Non-Governmental Organizations

Relations with 11 non-governmental organizations.
More detailed data available with paid subscription.


Available with paid subscription only.


Members in 5 countries
More detailed data available with paid subscription.

Type I Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Type II Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Subjects *

  • Law
    • Agreements
  • Economics
    • Economic
  • Integration
    • Integration

UN Sustainable Development Goals **

GOAL 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGOAL 11: Sustainable Cities and CommunitiesGOAL 16: Peace and Justice Strong Institutions



Last News Received

* Subject classification is derived from the organization names and aims.
** UN SDGs are linked to the subject classification.

You are viewing an organization profile from the Yearbook of International Organizations Online.
← return to your search page to find additional profiles.
Terms of Use

UIA allows users to access and make use of the information contained in its Databases for the user’s internal use and evaluation purposes only. A user may not re-package, compile, re-distribute or re-use any or all of the UIA Databases or the data* contained therein without prior permission from the UIA.

Data from database resources may not be extracted or downloaded in bulk using automated scripts or other external software tools not provided within the database resources themselves. If your research project or use of a database resource will involve the extraction of large amounts of text or data from a database resource, please contact us for a customized solution.

UIA reserves the right to block access for abusive use of the Database.

* Data shall mean any data and information available in the Database including but not limited to: raw data, numbers, images, names and contact information, logos, text, keywords, and links.