Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS)

Organisation des Etats d'Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique (OEACP)
Organización de Estados de África, el Caribe y el Pacífico (OEACP)

Search Open Yearbook

This information is part of the Open Yearbook, a free service of UIA's subscription-based Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO). It includes profiles of non-profit organizations working worldwide in all fields of activity. The information contained in the profiles and search functionality of this free service are limited.

The full-featured Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO) includes over 72,500 organization profiles, additional information in the profiles, sophisticated search functionality and data export. For more information about YBIO, please click here or contact us.

The UIA is a leading provider of information about international non-profit organizations. The aim of the Open Yearbook is to promote the activities of international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs).

Contact Details


More detailed data available with paid subscription.


1975-06-06 Georgetown Guyana


Established on signature of the founding text, or Georgetown Agreement -- Accord de Georgetown, following signature, 28 Feb 1975, Lomé (Togo), of T-XT7543 - ACP-EEC Convention (Lomé convention) between the European Economic Community - subsequently called H-XD0665 - European Community and then F-XF2147 - European Union (EU) - and 46 African, Caribbean and Pacific countries. The Convention succeeded two earlier Conventions, both called Yaoundé Convention: the first signed 20 Jul 1963 and which entered into force 1 Jul 1964; the second signed 29 Jul 1969 and which expired 31 Jan 1975. They established H-XH0060 - Association of the European Economic Community and the African and Malagasy States which, with the association between European Economic Community and the then H-XH0472 - East African Community - 1967 (EAC) - disintegrated in 1977 - was superseded by the new arrangement. Special agreements were concluded with 21 states belonging to the British Commonwealth in 1973, when the UK entered the EEC. T-XT7979 - Second ACP-EEC Convention (Lomé II) between EEC and the ACP States, signed 31 Oct 1979, Lomé, entered into force 1 Jan 1981. T-XT8412 - Third ACP-EEC Convention (Lomé III), the 3rd Lomé Agreement, signed 8 Dec 1984, entered into force in May 1985, expired 28 Feb 1990. Negotiations for T-XT8967 - Fourth ACP-EEC Convention (Lomé IV) concluded on signature of an agreement, 15 Dec 1989, entered into force in Mar 1990 for a period of 10 years, amended 4 Nov 1995, Mauritius, following mid-term review. T-XT0080 - ACP-EU Partnership Agreement (Cotonou agreement), signed 23 Jun 2000, Cotonou (Benin) entered into force apr 2003. T-AA4718 - Samoa Agreement entered into force Nov 2023. Statutes of Georgetown Agreement entered in 'UNTS/1 20345'.


Ensure realization of the objectives of the Convention of Lomé (Togo); coordinate activities of ACP States in the application of the Convention; determine joint positions of ACP Group vis-à-vis the European Community on matters covered by the Convention; promote and strengthen existing solidarity of the ACP Group; contribute to development of greater and closer trade, economic and cultural relations among ACP States and among developing countries in general and, to this end, develop exchange of information among ACP States in the fields of trade, technology, industry and human resources; contribute to promotion of effective regional and interregional cooperation among ACP States and among developing countries in general and strengthen links between the regional organizations to which they belong; promote establishment of a new world economic order; promote and develop collective self reliance and greater and closer economic and trade relations among ACP States; work to ensure that the Lomé Convention contributes to the realization of common aspirations of developing countries.


83 past events available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.


Bureau of 6 members (4 from Africa, one from the Pacific and one from the Caribbean, renewed every 6 months) directs E-XE4168 - ACP-EU Council of Ministers (meeting once a year), which is assisted by Committee of Ambassadors ACP-EC, meeting on average 30 times a year at Brussels (Belgium) headquarters, with Chairman elected from among members of the Bureau. Also set up under the Lomé Conventions: H-XF0237 - Centre technique de coopération agricole et rurale (CTA).

Permanent sub-committees of the Committee of Ambassadors (10) handle the subjects falling within the scope of the Group's objectives and relating to:

The sub-committees set up ad hoc working parties and expert groups within themselves as required. F-XE9068 - OACPS-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly (OACPS-EU JPA), established 8 Dec 1984, Lomé, on signature of the Lomé III Convention, took over the tasks of 'ACP-EEC Consultative Assembly -- Assemblée consultative ACP-CEE' which had been set up 31 Oct 1979, on signature of second Lomé Convention, and of 'ACP-EEC Joint Committee -- Comité paritaire ACP-CEE', on which were 64 representatives of the European Parliament.

ACP General Secretariat in Brussels monitors implementation of the Lomé Convention, services ACP Group organs and carries out tasks at the request of the Council of Ministers and Committee of Ambassadors; it comprises 3 Divisions: Commercial Cooperation; Development Cooperation; Administration and Finance. Programme Management Unit (PMU) -- Unité de gestion de projet (UGP), operational from 1 Jul 2002, administers a euro 20 million programme for capacity building in ACP countries and regional economic groupings.


Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.

Relations with Inter-Governmental Organizations

Available with paid subscription only.

Relations with Non-Governmental Organizations

Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.

Type I Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Type II Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Subjects *

Available with paid subscription only.

UN Sustainable Development Goals **

GOAL 10: Reduced InequalityGOAL 16: Peace and Justice Strong Institutions



Last News


* Subject classification is derived from the organization names and aims.
** UN SDGs are linked to the subject classification.

You are viewing profile from the Yearbook of International Organizations Online.
← return to your search page to find additional profiles.
Terms of Use

UIA allows users to access and make use of the information contained in its Databases for the user’s internal use and evaluation purposes only. A user may not re-package, compile, re-distribute or re-use any or all of the UIA Databases or the data* contained therein without prior permission from the UIA.

Data from database resources may not be extracted or downloaded in bulk using automated scripts or other external software tools not provided within the database resources themselves. If your research project or use of a database resource will involve the extraction of large amounts of text or data from a database resource, please contact us for a customized solution.

UIA reserves the right to block access for abusive use of the Database.

* Data shall mean any data and information available in the Database including but not limited to: raw data, numbers, images, names and contact information, logos, text, keywords, and links.