East African Community (EAC)

Search Open Yearbook

This information is part of the Open Yearbook, a free service of UIA's subscription-based Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO). It includes profiles of non-profit organizations working worldwide in all fields of activity. The information contained in the profiles and search functionality of this free service are limited.

The full-featured Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO) includes over 72,500 organization profiles, additional information in the profiles, sophisticated search functionality and data export. For more information about YBIO, please click here or contact us.

The UIA is a leading provider of information about international non-profit organizations. The aim of the Open Yearbook is to promote the activities of international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs).

Contact Details

URL: http://www.eac.int/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/proudlyeastafrican/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jumuiya
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_Nt3M0n4ftThoVVQMK_D3A

More detailed data available with paid subscription.




Established on entry into force of T-XT9982 - East African Cooperation Treaty - the 'Treaty for the establishment of the East African Community' - signed 30 Nov 1999, Arusha (Tanzania UR). Formally launched 15 Jan 2001. Establishment followed the work of the Commission for East African Cooperation (CEAC), set up 14 Mar 1996, Arusha (Tanzania UR), on signature of a cooperation agreement by Presidents of Kenya, Tanzania UR and Uganda, following preparatory work begun after signature of a Treaty, Nov 1993, by the countries involved. The Commission was also referred to as: Permanent Tripartite Commission Secretariat on East African Cooperation; Secretariat of the Commission for East African Cooperation (EAC Secretariat).

The preparatory East African Cooperation, 1993-2000, revitalized previous formal cooperation among the 3 countries, which was suspended in 1977 with the disintegration of H-XH0472 - East African Community - 1967 (EAC); this had been set up, 1 Dec 1967, to replace H-XH4217 - East African Common Services Organization (EACSO), formed 9 Dec 1961, which in its turn took over the activities of H-XH4544 - East African High Commission (EAHC), set up 1 Jan 1948. During the period 1977-1993, member states signed a 'Mediation Agreement for the Division of Assets and Liabilities', 1984, which paved the way for future cooperation. The Community aims ultimately to achieve a Political Federation of East African States. In this regard, the Protocol on the Establishment of D-XJ4397 - East African Community Customs Union (EACCU) was signed Mar 2004.


Widen and deepen cooperation among partner states in political, economic, social, cultural, health, education, science and technology, defence, security, legal and judicial areas, for their mutual benefit; to this end, establish a customs union as entry point, a common market, subsequently a monetary union and ultimately a political federation. Achieve these goals by: promoting sustainable growth and equitable development of partner states, including rational utilization of the region's natural resources and protection of the environment; strengthening and consolidating longstanding political, economic, social, cultural and traditional ties among the peoples of the region, promoting a people-centred development; enhancing and strengthening participation of the private sector and civil society; mainstreaming gender in all programmes and enhancing the role of women in development; promoting good governance, including adherence to the principles of democracy, rule of law, accountability, transparency, social justice, equal opportunities and gender equality; promoting peace, security and stability in the region and good neighbourliness among partner states.


45 past events available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.


Summit of Heads of State and or Government of the Partner States (at least once a year). Council of Ministers (meeting twice a year, one meeting being immediately prior to Summit), comprises Ministers responsible for regional cooperation of each partner state together with further Ministers as each partner state determines. Coordination Committee consists of Permanent Secretaries responsible for regional cooperation in each partner state together with further Permanent Secretaries as each partner state determines. Sectoral Committees report to the Coordination Committee; they prepare programmes, set out priorities with respect to various sectors and monitor their implementation. K-XK2202 - East African Court of Justice initially has jurisdiction over interpretation and application of the Treaty on Common Market Matters; the Court's appellate, human rights and other jurisdiction will be determined by the Council of Ministers in a protocol to be concluded at a suitable future date. E-XK2203 - East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) comprises 27 elected members, 9 from each partner state, plus (ex officio) the 3 Ministers responsible for regional cooperation, the Secretary-General and the Counsel to the Community. Secretariat, headed by Secretary-General. EAC Defence Liaison Office set up at the Secretariat in 1998. Autonomous institutions: F-XF4208 - East African Development Bank (EADB); E-XE2774 - Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA); E-XE4240 - Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization (LVFO). Also includes: K-XK2204 - East African Association of Investment Promotion Agencies (EAFAIPA); K-XK2205 - East African Securities Regulatory Authorities (EASRA).


Available with paid subscription only.

Relations with Inter-Governmental Organizations

Available with paid subscription only.

Relations with Non-Governmental Organizations

Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.

Type I Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Type II Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Subjects *

Available with paid subscription only.

UN Sustainable Development Goals **

GOAL 11: Sustainable Cities and CommunitiesGOAL 16: Peace and Justice Strong Institutions



Last News


* Subject classification is derived from the organization names and aims.
** UN SDGs are linked to the subject classification.

You are viewing profile from the Yearbook of International Organizations Online.
← return to your search page to find additional profiles.
Terms of Use

UIA allows users to access and make use of the information contained in its Databases for the user’s internal use and evaluation purposes only. A user may not re-package, compile, re-distribute or re-use any or all of the UIA Databases or the data* contained therein without prior permission from the UIA.

Data from database resources may not be extracted or downloaded in bulk using automated scripts or other external software tools not provided within the database resources themselves. If your research project or use of a database resource will involve the extraction of large amounts of text or data from a database resource, please contact us for a customized solution.

UIA reserves the right to block access for abusive use of the Database.

* Data shall mean any data and information available in the Database including but not limited to: raw data, numbers, images, names and contact information, logos, text, keywords, and links.