Active Membership

UIA Active Members are individuals who have an interest in international organizations and in the work of the UIA, and who have contributed significantly and over a long period to the international organization community. As trustees they further the interests of the UIA each in his or her own sphere of activity.

UIA asks that its Active Members

  • Promote the work of the UIA in their professional networks and fields;
  • Contribute to the work of the UIA where and as its needs and their knowledge and skills match;
  • Stay informed of UIA’s activities by reading the Secretariat’s quarterly and annual reports;
  • Participate in the General Assembly (held every two years in Brussels) either in person or by proxy.

There are no fees involved. UIA Active Membership is an honorary and – we trust – honorable position.

In return, UIA offers

Current UIA Active Members

The UIA's Active Members include diplomats, international civil servants, association executives, professors of international relations and directors of foundations.

How to Become an Active Member

Interested individuals are invited to send a Letter of Motivation along with their Curriculum Vitae to the UIA Secretariat ( ). Candidates are admitted following approval by the General Assembly. Membership is limited to 250 individuals.

Nighat Amin Dragana Avramov F. W. G. Baker
Michel Ballieu Hemant Batra Michel Bauwens
Yves Beigbeder Michael Boddington Marc Bontemps
Sheila Bordier Marcus Bussey Rolf Carrière
Tim Casswell Danièle Castle Chris Champion
Inga Clausen Robert Cliquet Alessandro Cortese
Mariarosa Cutillo Giang Dang Huong Ghislaine de Coninck
Bas de Leeuw Jacques de Mévius Dianne Dillon-Ridgley
Christy Duijvelaar Esperanza Duran Peter Ellyard
Barbara Evaeus Zinaida Fadeeva Denise Farrar
Thierry Gaudin Thomas Getzen Jerome Glenn
Maja Göpel Arundhuti Gupta Peter Hajnal
Barbara Welling Hall Gwendolyn Hallsmith Wolfgang Hoeschele
Eleanor Huddle Seya Immonen Declan Kennedy
Ashok Khosla Rak Kim Peter Koenig
Daniel Laqua Andras Laszlo Jennifer La Trobe
Frans Lenglet Bernard Lietaer Michel Loots
Marc Luyckx Georges Malempré Roland Mayerl
Nadia McLaren Marilyn Mehlmann Chloé Menhinick
Bernard Miche Yves Moreau Servane Mouazan
Bob Munro Thiyagu Nagaraj Jackie Nebel
Balgis Osman-Elasha Turkia Ould Daddah Octavio (Bobby) Peralta
Marina Pisklakova-Parker Olena Pometun Nico Randeraad
W Boyd Rayward Rolf Reinhardt Donna Reitano
Cyril Ritchie Daphné Romy Acarya Shambhushivananda Avadhuta
Christina Sleszynska Fiona Solomon Paul Sommerfeld
Gillian Martin Sorensen Joanna Swanger Gianni Tibaldi
Kai Troll Turan Ünak Simone Van Beek
Théo Van Brabant Daniel Van Espen Christophe Verbruggen
Michel Vermote Danièle Vranken Judy Wickens
Femke Wijdekop Marisha Wojciechowska-Shibuya Patrick Worms