Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU)

Cour de justice de l'Union européenne
Tribunal de Justicia de la Unión Europea
Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union
Tribunal de Justica da Uniäo Europeia
Corte di Giustizia dell'Unione Europea
Hof van Justitie van de Europese Unie
Europeiska Unionens Domstol
Europaeiske Unions Domstol
Euroopan Unionin Tuomioistuimen
Soudniho dvora Evropské Unie
Súdneho dvora Európskej Unie
as Európai Unió Birósaganak
Trybunau Sprawiedliwos'ci Unii Europejskiej
Sodisse Evropske Unije
Euroopa Liidu Kohus
Eiropas Savieni-bas Tiesas
Europos Sajungos Teisingumo Teismas
Il-Qorti tal-Ġustizzja tal-Unjoni Ewropea
Curtea de Justitie a Uniunii Europene

Search Open Yearbook

This information is part of the Open Yearbook, a free service of UIA's subscription-based Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO). It includes profiles of non-profit organizations working worldwide in all fields of activity. The information contained in the profiles and search functionality of this free service are limited.

The full-featured Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO) includes over 72,500 organization profiles, additional information in the profiles, sophisticated search functionality and data export. For more information about YBIO, please click here or contact us.

The UIA is a leading provider of information about international non-profit organizations. The aim of the Open Yearbook is to promote the activities of international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs).

Contact Details


More detailed data available with paid subscription.


1952 Luxembourg


Set up 1952, Luxembourg, as Court of Justice of the ECSC -- Cour de justice de la CECA, by T-XT5133 - Treaty Establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (Treaty of Paris) Article 4 (1) of the Convention, establishing H-XD0663 - European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), Article 4 (1) of the Convention. By virtue of Articles 4 (1) and 3 (1) respectively of the two Treaties of Rome (Italy) - Treaty Establishing the European Economic Community (Treaty of Rome) - and T-XT5766 - Treaty Establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (Treaty of Rome), transformed into Court of Justice of the European Communities (CJEC) -- Cour de justice des Communautés européennes -- Tribunal de Justicia de las Comunidades Europeas -- Gerichtshof der Europäischen Gemeinschaften -- Tribunal de Justiça das Comunidades Europeias -- Corte di Giustizia delle Comunità Europee -- Hof van Justitie van de Europese Gemeenschappen -- Europaeiska Gemenskapernas Domstol -- Europaeiske Faellesskabers Domstol -- Euroopan Yhteisöjen Tuomioistuin -- Dikastirio ton Evropaikon Kinotiton -- Soudni dvur Evropskych Spolecentstvi -- Súdney dvor Európskych Spolocenstiev -- Európai Közösségek Birósaga -- Trybunal Sprawiedliwosci Wspólnot Europejskich -- Sodisse Europskih Skupnosti -- Euroopa Ühenduste Kohus -- Eiropas Kopienu Tiesa -- Europos Bendriju Teisingumo Teismas -- Il-Qorti tal-Gustizzja tal-Komunitajiet Ewropej -- Cúirt Bhreithiúnais na gCómhphobal Eorpach -- Curtea de Justitie a Comunitatila Europene -- Curtea de Justitie a Uniunii Europene, 25 Mar 1957, when it became an institute of the 'European Economic Community (EEC)', and later called H-XD0665 - European Community. Subsequent treaties amended its function: T-XT8633 - Single European Act (SEA), signed Feb 1986, and into force 1 Jul 1987; T-XT9113 - Treaty on European Union (Maastricht Treaty), signed 7 Feb 1992, and into force 1 Nov 1993; T-XT9706 - Treaty of Amsterdam, signed 2 Oct 1997, and into force 1999; T-XT0128 - Nice Treaty, signed 26 Feb 2001, Nice, and into force 1 Feb 2003; Current name adopted following the entry into force of the T-XT2073 - Treaty of Lisbon, 1 Dec 2009, when the F-XF2147 - European Union (EU) was recognized as a legal personality, acquired the competences previously conferred on the European Community, and Community law therefore became European Union law. The Court acquired its new function through Under the Treaty of Lisbon, which also altered the original Treaty of Rome to T-XT5765 - Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU), the court acquired its current function.


Ensure that the law is observed in the interpretation and application of relevant Treaties; review the legality of the acts of the institutions of the European Union; ensure that Member States comply with their obligations under Community law; interpret Community law at the request of the national courts and tribunals.


2 past events available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.


Consists of 2 courts: 'Court of Justice', comprising 28 Judges (one from each Member State), 11 Advocates General and 1 Registrar, including President and Vice-President. The Court may sit as a full court, in a Grand Chamber of 15 Judges, or in a chamber of 3 or 5 Judges. 'General Court', created in 1988, currently comprising 47 Judges (as part of a reform of the General Court which is taking place in 3 phases. By 2019 the General Court will have 2 judges per Member State) and 1 Registrar, including President. The Court meets in chambers of 3 or 5 Judges, and occasionally by a single Judge, and it may also sit as a Grand Chamber of 15 Judges. As of 1 Sep 2016 the jurisdiction of the separate 'Civil Service Tribunal', created in 2004, became part of the General Court. The Civil Service Tribunal no longer exists as a separate court within the CJEU. Registrar of the Court of Justice, under the authority of the President of the Court, is responsible for all departments, except Internal Audit, which is attached to the President: Directorate-General for Personnel and Finance; Directorate-General for Library, Research and Documentation; Directorate-General for Infrastructures; Directorate-General for Translation; Interpretation Directorate; Directorate for Protocol and Visits; Communication Directorate; Legal Advisor on Administrative Matters.


Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.

Relations with Inter-Governmental Organizations

Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.


Available with paid subscription only.

Type I Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Type II Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

Subjects *

Available with paid subscription only.

UN Sustainable Development Goals **

GOAL 5: Gender EqualityGOAL 10: Reduced InequalityGOAL 16: Peace and Justice Strong Institutions



Last News


* Subject classification is derived from the organization names and aims.
** UN SDGs are linked to the subject classification.

You are viewing profile from the Yearbook of International Organizations Online.
← return to your search page to find additional profiles.
Terms of Use

UIA allows users to access and make use of the information contained in its Databases for the user’s internal use and evaluation purposes only. A user may not re-package, compile, re-distribute or re-use any or all of the UIA Databases or the data* contained therein without prior permission from the UIA.

Data from database resources may not be extracted or downloaded in bulk using automated scripts or other external software tools not provided within the database resources themselves. If your research project or use of a database resource will involve the extraction of large amounts of text or data from a database resource, please contact us for a customized solution.

UIA reserves the right to block access for abusive use of the Database.

* Data shall mean any data and information available in the Database including but not limited to: raw data, numbers, images, names and contact information, logos, text, keywords, and links.