Teutonic Order

Ordre Teutonique
Deutsch-Ordens-Priester (Deutscher Orden)
Ordine Teutonico
Ordo Fratrum Domus Hospitalis Sanctae Mariae Teutonicorum in Jerusalem

Search Open Yearbook

This information is part of the Open Yearbook, a free service of UIA's subscription-based Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO). It includes profiles of non-profit organizations working worldwide in all fields of activity. The information contained in the profiles and search functionality of this free service are limited.

The full-featured Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO) includes over 72,500 organization profiles, additional information in the profiles, sophisticated search functionality and data export. For more information about YBIO, please click here or contact us.

The UIA is a leading provider of information about international non-profit organizations. The aim of the Open Yearbook is to promote the activities of international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs).

Contact Details

Available with paid subscription only.


1190, Acre (Palestine), by citizens of Bremen and Lübeck, as Order of the Fraternal House of the Hospitallers of St Mary of the Teutons in Jerusalem, known also in English and French as Teutonic Knights of St Mary's Hospital at Jerusalem -- Chevaliers Teutoniques de l'Hôpital Sainte Marie de Jerusalem. Was granted protection by Clement II. Subsequently was also referred to as Knights of the Teutonic Order. Transformed, 1198, into a mendicant order of Catholic knights and confirmed as such, 19 Feb 1199, by Innocence III; was associated with a German hospital, using the rule of the Knights Templar. The Order acquired a military character, was granted sovereign rights in the 13th century, and had considerable influence until the 16th century. A separate order, the Livonian Order (Livonian Knights), known also as Knights of the Sword or Brothers of the Sword, created in 1201, merged with the Teutonic Order in 1237. The rule was revised in 1606. The order divided during the reformation, when the Grand Master and some of his Knights became Lutherans and started a separate order. The Order was dissolved, 24 Apr 1809, by Napoleon I, in all the states of the Federation of the Rhine. After Napoleon I dissolved the Order in the countries under his rule, the seat of the Grand Master was settled in Vienna. During the reign of Napoleon I the Teutonic Order could carry out its activities in the countries under the Habsburg crown. The Great Chapter adopted, 26 Feb 1839, the revised constitution now called the 'Statutes of the Teutonic Order' for short, limiting activity to charitable and pastoral undertakings. Pope Pius IX confirmed new Rules, 14 July 1871. The Rules of the Brothers were adapted to modern needs and adjusted to the Canon Law in force from 1918, and were confirmed, 27 Nov 1929, by the Holy See. The Rules of the Sisters were also revised and definitely approved, 17 Nov 1939, by the Holy See. Since Vatican Council II called for a modernization of monastic life, the order's rule were renewed, laid down in 'Rules and Statutes' and approved by a number of General Chapters. They were approved, 8 June 1977, by the Apostolic See. Finally, the 'Rules and Statutes of the Brothers' and the 'Life Rules and Statutes of the Sisters' were adapted to the requirements of the new Canon Law by General Chapter, 20 Aug - 3 Sep 1991, Lana. Functions primarily as an honorary ecclesiastical institution. Today the Teutonic Order works in three branches; the Brothers (a clerical congregation); the Sisters (a clerical congregation); the third branch (lay members and priests), affiliated with the Order as Familiaren or as Honorary Knights.


Observe a life of prayer and contemplation; provide pastoral care and social services; maintain and publish documentation on the Teutonic Order; guarantee custodianship of museums.

Available with paid subscription only.


Maintains museums: Museum of the Teutonic Order; Treasury of the Order of Teutonic Knights.


Available with paid subscription only.


Members in 8 countries
More detailed data available with paid subscription.

Type I Classification

Available with paid subscription only.

UN Sustainable Development Goals **

GOAL 4: Quality Education



Last News Received

31. Oct 2003
* Subject classification is derived from the organization names and aims.
** UN SDGs are linked to the subject classification.

You are viewing an organization profile from the Yearbook of International Organizations Online.
← return to your search page to find additional profiles.
Terms of Use

UIA allows users to access and make use of the information contained in its Databases for the user’s internal use and evaluation purposes only. A user may not re-package, compile, re-distribute or re-use any or all of the UIA Databases or the data* contained therein without prior permission from the UIA.

Data from database resources may not be extracted or downloaded in bulk using automated scripts or other external software tools not provided within the database resources themselves. If your research project or use of a database resource will involve the extraction of large amounts of text or data from a database resource, please contact us for a customized solution.

UIA reserves the right to block access for abusive use of the Database.

* Data shall mean any data and information available in the Database including but not limited to: raw data, numbers, images, names and contact information, logos, text, keywords, and links.